Just say no to imaginary spelling   1 comment

Check thy spelling

I have been guilty of a crime that I have been annoying myself with, so it may be annoying others as well.
I had, when I started writing about spiritual topics, used the spelling “Magick” instead of “Magic.”  It bothered me to write it that way, actually, but I knew this was the commonly accepted spelling amongst the community of magickal/magical people.  I have read many times that this spelling is engineered to differentiate between stage magic and actual magical, spiritual practice.  Though I understand this, most people with common sense and a brain stem can tell the difference based on the context of the rest of the sentence.  Therefore, I am hereby not going to use the word “magick” anymore.   It’s not a real word.   Or I hope I won’t use it.  If I do, it’s a mistake.  I have gone into this blog and tried to dig out any references with that spelling in it but I make no guarantees that I have caught them all.  I was even writing a series on magical practice for my group and was using that horrible spelling.  Every time I write it, my Word program underlines it in red, as if taunting me, “That’s not a real word!”  No more.  I am throwing off the shackles of nonsense spelling.
I really hate imaginary words that people use too much and they become a cultural phenomenon.
Therefore, other words that I have NOT used and never intend to use also include misspellings of “women”  or “woman” such as:
Wimmin
Wemoon
Womyn
Womoon
Wimmyn
………or other nonsense like the above.  Yes, I KNOW that some women don’t like that the root word “men” or “man” is in their feminine title.  Guess what?  Too bad.  That’s how it’s spelled.
Posted April 1, 2011 by Jessica in Uncategorized

One response to “Just say no to imaginary spelling

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The original meaning of the word “man” was “human being,” not “male.”

Leave a Reply

